Our Wolf Den

Honey, I Have an Idea!

Bead Board Walls in the Downstairs Bathroom

10 Comments

Our downstairs bathroom had horrible floral paneling when we moved in.  We didn’t want to pull it down.  We were worried it was glued and would cause a ton more work to replace the plaster and lathe behind it.  We thought about just covering it in drywall, but that didn’t set right with us either.  So, we decided to cover it with bead board.

bead board walls downstairs bathroom

We took out the vanity and medicine cabinet.  I started to work on removing the “crown molding”.  I use that term loosely; it was really just a thin piece of trim.

DSC_0290

Wolfy took some measurements, and started cutting the large sheets of bead board using a speed square, a level, and our handy Multi-Tool.

DSC_0297

Like the rest of the bead board throughout the house, we used adhesive and trim nails to attach it to the walls.

You can see in this picture that we raised the vanity light, as well, during this process.

DSC_0313

I personally love having a white bathroom.  It is great because, with just a few changes, (shower curtain, towels, and rug) you have a whole new room with a new color scheme.

Previous Downstairs Bathroom Posts

Installing a new ceiling light and fan downstairs faucet

I am linking up here.

10 thoughts on “Bead Board Walls in the Downstairs Bathroom

  1. What a clever idea. I love seeing your bathroom come together. :)

  2. When you wrote “floral paneling” I couldn’t imagine what that was. I see it now and I also would have covered it up. Also love the arch into your kitchen. Vintage. Jo @ Let’s Face the Music

    • Very abstract floral, I guess, it was really really bad in person. In fact I was scared of the bathroom the first couple of weeks we lived there (I had to get over it because the upstairs and only other bathroom did not have working water anymore and was terrifying). Thank you for the comment on the arch, it was one of the reason we love our house it has character.

  3. How cute! I’d love for you to link it up on my blog for my DIY Weekend link party.

    mrandmrswinslett.blogspot.com/2013/08/diy-weekend-829.html

  4. Love the beadboard – was thinking of doing that myself in the powder room. great idea for covering what was there!

    • Thank so you much. I really was hesitant about adding all the bead board, but I love having the white backdrop it is so easy to change the colors of the room just by switching out the towels and shower curtain.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers