Our Wolf Den

Honey, I Have an Idea!

Chicken Packets – Two Ways

11 Comments

dsc_00101Chicken packets are one of my go to meals.  For one, they are easy, and two, they can be easily adapted.  The basic idea of a chicken packet is to wrap cubed chicken in foil with veggies and other goodies as requested and then put in the oven or on the grill.  The combinations are limitless but here are two that I know work out.

The tried and true recipe:

Chicken in Italian Dressing Packet

DSC_0012

(Scroll to the bottom to see this cooked)

  • 1 cubed chicken breast
  • 1/4 pound frozen cauliflower
  • 1/4 pound frozen broccoli florets
  • 1/2 diced onion
  • Several squeezes of Italian Dressing (I prefer Wishbone, but that is just a personal preference.  No one else seems to notice a difference.)
  • Optional: Wolfy likes rice at the bottom of his packets with cheese and peppers

Another version of the recipe I made for Wolfy the other night:

Spicy Soy Chicken and Rice

DSC_0013

(Scroll to the bottom to see this cooked)

  • 1/2 cup to 1 cup rice
  • 1 cubed chicken breast
  • 1/4 pound frozen cauliflower
  • 1/4 pound frozen broccoli florets
  • 1/2 diced onion
  • 2 diced sweet peppers
  • Add soy paste, soy sauce, and garlic chili sauce to taste (like more soy, add more, like it hot, add more garlic chili sauce)

DSC_0007

Don’t limit yourself to chicken either.  Any meat, any side can be cooked this way.  It is easy:

  • Dice all ingredients
  • Combine.  If you are using rice you want that on the bottom.

DSC_0010

  • Seal in foil.
  • Throw in the oven or grill (come back in 45 minutes to an hour, open a packet, and check the meat for doneness)

DSC_0017

  • Enjoy!

DSC_0021

DSC_0020

I have brought this post to the party.  Click here to see where.

11 thoughts on “Chicken Packets – Two Ways

  1. I love how you made essentially two meals with different flavor profiles without having to wash a saute pan in between. 🙂 Ah, I think I know what we’re having for dinner tonight. Thank you!

    • Thank you, it is super easy and adaptable. I love it when I just don’t feel like cooking. Let me know how it turns out for you!

      • This turned out good. 🙂 I’ve used this idea to roast chicken and steak packets. I added pineapples and a simple soy-honey sauce to one pack of chicken and a red-wine vinegar sauce to my husband’s. It was nice to basically set it and forget it. Next time, I want to marinade the meat to give it better color and flavor infusion. Thank you for this great idea!

  2. Yum, the chicken packets look delicious. I love the no-cleaning-pans aspect, too!

    • I swear this meal is a life saver when I just don’t feel like cooking and cleaning. The only dirty dishes I have are is what the raw chicken touched (plate, cutting board and knife) and then the plates we use (which if you really don’t want to do dishes paper plates work).

  3. This look so delish! Did you use frozen chicken? Must pin this! Thanks for linking to my Pin Me Party!

    • Thank you! I use frozen boneless skinless chicken breasts and just thaw them for 1-2 minutes in the microwave. They don’t needed to be all the way thawed but a bit makes it a whole lot easier to cut. That’s what I prefer but I have used frozen solid chicken and completely thawed chicken it just takes longer to cook if it is frozen vs thawed.

      • I think the slightly frozen are easier to cut. I love the simplicity of this. YUM!

        • I was out of town so I forgot to tell you that this was featured at Diana Rambles on Friday. Please grab a featured button off my sidebar or via the link under the features. Thanks for sharing this awesome idea!

  4. Pingback: Chicken “Scampi” | Our Wolf Den

Leave a Reply

