Our Wolf Den

Honey, I Have an Idea!

Stripe the Walls

13 Comments

before and after stair way make over

I mentioned in a previous post here about my love for the horizontal stripe. It took me a while, but I finally found the perfect place to stripe, the hallway going upstairs.  If any place needed a little whimsy, this area certainly did.

 DSC_0081

DSC_0118

We followed the same process we did the last time we horizontally striped an area.  The colors we picked were a shade and sheen apart.  They are actually pale blue in color.  I couldn’t find the paint cans to let you know which color, but if they are found I will post that information.  Two coats of the lighter color went on.  We then decided how many stripes we wanted, marked, and taped them off (after the paint had dried of course).  Then the darker shinier color went on (two coats as well).  Make sure you pull your tape while the paint is still wet!

 DSC_0127

Other projects we tackled on the hallway makeover:

  • Paint the brown handrail white.
  • Freshen up the white paint on the trim.9
  • Give the stairs a new coat using a slip resistant paint (the paint felt like it had sand mixed in it).

 DSC_0141

Over all a much more cheery area, amazing what a few coats of paint can accomplish.

DSC_0135

DSC_0136

DSC_0137

This post has been linked up here.

13 thoughts on “Stripe the Walls

  1. What a pretty difference. 🙂 Now I’m thinking about stripes too.

    I have a little space I’m stuck on. I’ll e-mail this weekend with some photos to see if we can mood board it. =D

    • Thank you! I am in love with the horizontal stripe. I have to watch myself sometimes in my home that is my first gut reaction, but I know it is much better in moderation.

      I can’t wait to see the space. Let me know and I will start brainstorming!

  2. That looks great! I also love horizontal stripes.

    Emily@ elizabethjoandesigns.com

  3. Love the stripes…very subtle. I really love your red stairs…so cool! Come link up your post at my party Centerpiece Wednesday thestylesisters.blogspot.com/2013/07/centerpiece-wednesday-85-and-wrap-up.html
    Karin

  4. The stripes came out great. I think your stairs would look awesome with one of those homemade barn door baby gates–have you seen them on pinterest?

    • I have been thinking about that. We have to keep the baby gates up to keep the dogs down stairs (so the cat can be safe upstairs) and we have been kicking that idea around of building some sort of half door in place.

  5. Congratulations on having this post featured at Handy Man, Crafty Woman, Manda! http://www.handymancraftywoman.com/2013/07/wicked-awesome-wednesday-121.html

  6. Thanks for linking to Take-A-Look Tuesday over at SugarBeeCrafts.com – you were featured today!!
    –Mandy, Sugar Bee Crafts

  7. What a difference. I love the stripes! I also love that you have a gate for your dogs. We have one at the top of our stairs too.

    • Thank you so much! I love the horizontal stripes. As for the baby gate, the puppies just can’t be trust to be out of eye sight. That and the kitty needs a place to escape.

Leave a Reply

