Our Wolf Den

Honey, I Have an Idea!

Types of Vino Wall Art

7 Comments

I am so excited.  I have been working on several projects for Wolfy’s birthday.  Now that it has past I can give you a rundown of some great gift (and decorating) ideas.  I will be sharing these projects with you over the next couple of weeks.

The first project I tackled was to add some wine art to our living room.  I went searching on All Posters to find the perfect prints.  I ended up purchasing four (three for Wolfy and one for myself) and today I am going to share the first project I tackled.

I purchased this print.  I loved the graphic letters and knew it would be perfect for our living room.  I didn’t want to just have it framed, I wanted to do something a little more special.  I decided I would mount the print onto a board.  A trip to Home Depot later I found a 2’x4’ piece of ¼ inch MDF for right around $7.  I also purchased a test container of Jet Black Glidden paint and a can of spray polyurethane.  What I really wanted was the water based product that is similar to poly but I could not find it.   While normal poly has the tendency to turn yellow overtime I think it will be okay for this project.

The first step was to cut the wood down to size.  The print is 16×20 so I cut the board roughly 24×20.  The goal was to create a large matte behind the print.

DSC_0053

Once the board was cut, I hit the edges with some sand paper and used the Jet Black paint to cover the MDF.  I painted the front and the edges, making sure to apply it very thick.  Once the paint was on evenly, I ran my brush down the board to create even paint lines that were visible.

DSC_0056

Once happy with the look, I stuck the print directly into the wet paint.  Making sure it was centered, I pressed the print down to get all the air bubbles out.  Next time I would use a paint scraper or squeegee to make sure all the bubbles were removed.  I did end up with one once it was dry, but it is hard to notice unless you are looking for it.

DSC_0059

Once the paint was dry I applied several light layers of poly until I was happy with the shine.

Then, all that was left was to figure out was where to put it on the wall.  I used a level and then small finish nails in the corners to attach the piece of art to the wall.

DSC_0066

Personally, I am exceedingly happy with the way it turned out.  Wolfy was really impressed with it too, so that made my day.

DSC_0026

DSC_0027

Notice the fabric covered frames?  Here is the how to on those.

I am linking up here.

7 thoughts on “Types of Vino Wall Art

  1. I like how this turned out! It looks much better than just a poster on the wall and more unique than a frame. I will keep this in mind for when I have a poster to hang.

  2. I LOVE the way this turned out!! Very nice!

  3. Perfect. I love this idea, it looks so much better than in a frame. Very clever. Thanks tons for joining Inspire Me. Hugs, Marty

  4. Love how you did this. It look like real art vs just putting it in a skinny frame. I’m visiting from House of Hepworth’s . Have a great day.

  5. Happy Friday! My Friday Flash Blog linky party is live @ The Jenny Evolution – a flash mob of blogs where you share your favorite posts of the week. Hope to see you there — you may just get highlighted next week!

    Jennifer
    thejennyevolution.com

Leave a Reply

