Our Wolf Den

Honey, I Have an Idea!

New Blinds in the Kitchen

7 Comments

For almost three years we lived with these ugly dirty blinds in the kitchen.  I think they had at least a quarter of an inch of grease on them that I couldn’t remove.  They also didn’t work – or barely worked at best.  Wolfy could make them go up and down, I couldn’t.

DSC_0031

Down

DSC_0058

And up!

We kept looking at options.  We both really wanted bamboo blinds to match our front room.  But we could not find ones that were the same color and would fit inside the window.  I was also hesitant about having the bamboo blinds fitted inside.  Everywhere else I have extended the blinds beyond the window by at least 6 inches on either side and above the window to just a few inches off the ceiling.  When framed with curtains, this is an excellent look.  It makes the windows look larger, and, when the curtains are open, they hang outside the windows or just over the edge so they are not blocking the light.

These options wouldn’t work in the kitchen.  So we looked and looked for blinds.  We finally found these cordless cellular shades at Menard’s.  We had them custom cut and went with the non-blackout so the shades could be closed (our window lines up with our neighbors and we really like our privacy when in our own home) and still allow lots of light into the kitchen.

The first step was to remove the old blinds.  If you have this type, they should be clipped into a bracket.  Once you get close, you should be able to remove them easily.

DSC_0059

I had hoped that I could reuse the brackets.  But, the new shades were deeper, so the brackets needed to come off as well.  I then installed the new brackets.  Make sure to follow the instructions that come with the new blinds.

DSC_0060

Makanda supervised as I was climbing on the counter tops.

DSC_0063

The new blinds will just snap into the brackets.

DSC_0071

And you are done! (Yes I was standing in the sink.)

DSC_0073

Looks a whole lot better to me.

DSC_0074

Previous Kitchen Posts:

kitchen pendant under sink storage sink strainerbefore-and-after facets grouting backsplash kitchen backsplash beadboard painting kitchen tile

7 thoughts on “New Blinds in the Kitchen

  1. The new blinds do look better! 🙂 Right now, we’re flirting with a DIY blind/window covering solution. If it doesn’t work out, it looks like cellular shades like yours may be our next best bet.

  2. Pingback: Replacing the Overhead Florescent Light in the Kitchen | Our Wolf Den

  3. Pingback: Concert Countertops | Our Wolf Den

  4. Aw, this was an exceptionally nice post. Taking a few minutes and actual effort to make a top notch article… but what can I say… I put things off a whole lot and never manage to get anything done.

    • Thank you! I know the feeling I put those off for 3 years. I was so glad to get it done though it really makes the room look better. After living with them for a while I think I am going to add them to more windows. I really like how much light they let in but they block all view.

Leave a Reply

