Our Wolf Den

Honey, I Have an Idea!

Chicken “Scampi”

10 Comments

chicken scampi

At Our Wolf Den, my fake Chicken “Scampi” is one of our favorites.  It is now one of our weekend treats, where we don’t worry about how many calories are in the meal and just enjoy.  Like the Chicken Packet recipe, this is more of a guideline.  It works with whatever is in the freezer or fridge.

The first step is to sauté onion in oil.  I also add a good amount of spices at this stage.  This time I used granulated garlic, minced garlic, salt, and pepper.  I won’t give amounts, because we really enjoy the flavor garlic offers to a dish, so to some the amount of garlic may be too much.  At every stage you can add more spices, you just can’t take them away.

DSC_0021

Add cubed skinless, boneless chicken breast to the pan.  Cook the chicken through.

DSC_0026

While the chicken is cooking, you will want to boil some water for the pasta.  Always add some oil and salt to the water.  I bought the Garlic Parsley Fettuccine on a whim and had never used it before.  For this reason, I didn’t add any spices to the water.  Normally, when I make this recipe, I use plain angel hair and add garlic to the water to infuse more flavor.

DSC_0028

I added frozen broccoli florets to the chicken at this point.  Don’t feel like you can only add broccoli, any vegetable will work.  I really love to add frozen peas to this as well.  I just didn’t have any on hand.  You do not want to over cook your vegetables, especially broccoli which will turn dark and mushy if overcooked.  This is when you add the reason this recipe isn’t the healthiest – a big helping of butter.  For me, I don’t feel like I’m missing the cream that a traditional scampi would include.

DSC_0030

Keep an eye on your pasta!  You want it to be al dente.  It will need to cook a little longer in the melted butter but you still want it to have a bit of a bite to it.

DSC_0031

Once the pasta is done, add it to the pan with the chicken and veggies.  Stir it in well.  The pasta will absorb the liquid from the butter.

DSC_0032

At this point, I like to add more onion that has been diced fine, and sliced peppers (we used sweet peppers today).

DSC_0033

There you have it.  The Wolves’ version of Chicken Scampi.

DSC_0034

I will posting about the wine we paired this with on Wine Down Wednesday.

DSC_0035

So, does your family have any recipes similar to this?

More Recipes

I have taken this Chicken “Scampi” to these parties!

10 thoughts on “Chicken “Scampi”

  1. I’m sure this would be a hit in our household. Pinned it so I’ll remember to try it; thank you for sharing! =D

  2. Pingback: Wine Down Wednesday – Wyldewood Cellars Traminette | Our Wolf Den

  3. This sounds like the perfect go-to meal! Our is usually savory crepes or some sort of pasta. You really can’t go wrong with a giant bowl of pasta and veggies!

    • Thank you! I love meals like this, chicken is easy and inexpensive. Depending on the noodles that you use, the veggies that you add, and the sauce you top it off it with it completely changes the meal – I really like meals that are that versatile.

  4. This sounds great; my hubby is a great lover of anything chicken! 🙂 Pinned to our Good Tastes Tuesday pinterest board! thanks for coming by and linking up today!

    • We eat a lot of chicken at our Den. It is cheap and so easy to take a skinless boneless breast out of the freezer and start cooking with it. But pasta is our treat we both love it, and will eat insane amounts, which is what it has become a treat instead of a normal meal.

  5. Ok, how perfect is this. A fabulous dish and a glass of wine. Love it. Thanks tons for linking to Inspire Me. Hugs, Marty

  6. Love all the step by step pictures! I think my crew would love this. Stopping by from Good Tastes Tuesday! Thanks for coming by and linking up this week. http://www.sherrylwilson.com/good-tastes-tuesday/

  7. Pingback: Good Tastes Tuesday - September 24 - The Sassy Slow Cooker

  8. Pingback: Good Tastes Tuesday - September 24 - Simply Sherryl

Leave a Reply

