Our Wolf Den

Honey, I Have an Idea!

Tiling the Walls in the Master Bathroom

5 Comments

To get the master bathroom ready to use, I needed to tackle the tile.  Wolfy knows me and leaves me alone (except to take pictures and offer opinions on layouts) when it comes to tiling.  The large tiles are the ones I originally purchased to go on the floor.  They are 18 inches by 18 inches.  I ended up only having 1 left over, so it turned out to be the perfect project for them.

DSC_0254

For added detail I inserted a line of glass and stone tile mosaic.

DSC_0255

After laying the tiles out several times, I ended up making the insert 1 1/2 foot wide in the tub.  You will notice that this allows the water valve and the spout to come through the mosaic and not the solid tile.   That way I did not need to make a circular cut in the large tiles.  I was able to just pull a few tiles out of the mosaic and then add more in where necessary.

DSC_0266

The large tiles go all the way around the tub.

DSC_0267

I used the same pattern in the shower, but to make the splurge on the mosaic tile go further, I cut the sheets in half.  That allowed me to be able to use 2 full tiles on each side.

DSC_0264

I installed the mosaic in a larger pattern than in the shower on the sink wall, but it still wasn’t quite a full sheet..  That way it is in between two mirrors and, again, it was easier to pull the mosaic tiles out around the electrical box.

DSC_0263

There you have it.  Next week will be the master bathroom reveal!

Previous Master Bathroom Posts

drywall in masterbath master bathroom tile ditra patching the sub floor

water supply swiss cheese sub floor gut job

5 thoughts on “Tiling the Walls in the Master Bathroom

  1. I think it looks great! I’ll have to remember that trick about the smaller tile fitting around things better. Thanks so much for stopping by chapter37!

  2. I bought our black mosaic glass tile for the same reason, although we ended up cutting holes in our granite anyway. Haha. That’s why nearly all of it lives as toe kick now. I love how your walls are looking and I’m really excited to see your reveal!

    • We actually originally bought a sheet of those white and copper tiles (that are just like your black ones only in a different color) for the insert, but the size difference was way too much and I just didn’t feel fighting with the thinset to make sure everything was level.

  3. Pingback: Painting the Master Bedroom | Our Wolf Den

Leave a Reply

