Our Wolf Den

Honey, I Have an Idea!

World’s Best Baked Potato

3 Comments

I absolutely love baked potatoes.  To me they are a great side dish, and now that I am trying to limit the amount of carbs, a great treat.  The best way I have found to make them is in the microwave.

baked potato Collage

The first thing you want to do is clean the potatoes.  I normally use those wire scrub pads under lukewarm water.  Once they are clean, the potato skins need to be pierced.  You can use a fork or a knife, but I prefer a sharp knife.  I get out my frustrations and stab the potatoes, going almost all the way through.

Drizzle olive oil on the potatoes and work them around so they are completely covered in oil.

Then you can add spices.  I definitely recommend sea, or kosher salt and black pepper.  I also add granulated garlic and a little bit of chili powder.  Roll the potatoes around to make sure they are completely covered.

Then put them in the microwave.  My microwave has a button for baked potatoes that you can press and then enter the number of potatoes you are planning to cook.  It is just over 3 minutes apiece on my microwave, but I normally cook two at a time with the setting for 3 potatoes.  I like to make sure you have them super soft inside.

To check for doneness, use the knife and insert it into the potato.  The knife should slide in easily, with hardly any resistance.

That’s it.  Cut it in half and top with whatever you enjoy!

baked potato

More Recipes

grilled peach thumbnail chicken scampi dsc_00101 pro brownies thumbnail rummer

Linked up here

3 thoughts on “World’s Best Baked Potato

  1. I never thought to put seasoning on the outside of my potato! Thanks for sharing! I would love it if you would link up to my Weekly Meal Plan because this is such a great idea! http://mommyenvy.com/?p=744

    • Seasoning the outside is the only way I will eat it. I have gone to several restaurants that cover the potato in rock salt before they wrap it in foil to bake, this is a similar take on that just kicking it up a notch.

  2. Pingback: Weekly Meal Plan #5

Leave a Reply

