Our Wolf Den

Honey, I Have an Idea!

Crockpot Beef Fajitas

3 Comments

We love Mexican food at the Wolf Den.  In fact, before we purchased our Den, our rented duplex was just a few blocks away from what we have decided is the best Mexican restaurant in Illinois. We used to eat there at least twice a week.  We were those people you know, the ones the staff knows by name and food preference.  I think I could live on chips and salsa and fajitas.

Chips and salsa is easy.  I have a homemade recipe I like.  I also have a store brand that I really enjoy.  While neither are as good as going out to eat, they do and can get you past the craving.  Fajitas have always been another story until I gave this a try.  May I introduce the only way to cook fajitas… in the crockpot!

Crockpot Beef Fajitas.jpg

Yes, the crockpot.  I started out with some inexpensive beef round steak from Sam’s.  For this first trial run, I used two steaks, which ended up being enough for two meals for both Wolfy and I.  I roughly cubed the steaks and put them in my smallest crockpot.  I added 1 red onion and 1 package of Fajita seasoning.  Nothing else!  No water, no oil, just the meat, the onions, and the seasonings.

DSC_0079

The plan with fresh meat was to cook it for 4 hours.  Here it is after 2.

DSC_0083

After 4 hours, you are able to pull those cubes of meat apart with two forks.  So the texture is a bit different than what you get at a restaurant.  These are pulled beef fajitas, but trust me, once you try them you won’t go back!  So tender and flavorful!

DSC_0085

Once the meat was pulled apart I added ½ red pepper, ½ yellow pepper, ½ orange pepper, and ½ red onion.  I mixed this in and let it cook on high for another ½ hour.

DSC_0089

Serve on warm tortillas with salsa or whatever you like your fajitas with (endless opportunities for guacamole, Pico de Gallo, lettuce, sour cream, cheese, you name it and you can put it on there).

DSC_0093

Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound round steak
  • 1 ½ red onion (1/2 reserved for later) sliced
  • 1 package fajita seasoning
  • ½ of each red bell pepper, yellow bell pepper, and orange bell pepper sliced
  • Tortillas
  • Toppings for fajitas as desired

Steps:

  1. For fresh steak: Cube and place into crockpot on high.  Add 1 sliced red onion and 1 package of fajita seasoning.  Let cook on high for 4 hours, stirring occasionally.
  2. For frozen steak: Place in crockpot on high.  Add 1 sliced red onion and 1 package of fajita seasoning.  Let cook on high for 8 hours, stirring occasionally.
  3. After the 4 or 8 hours, use 2 forks to pull the meat apart.
  4. Add in the sliced peppers and reserved sliced onion.  Mix into meat.  Cook on high for 30 minutes.
  5. Warm tortillas in microwave on 15-20 second bursts.
  6. Enjoy!

More Recipes

 chicken scampi dsc_00101 pro brownies thumbnail rummer

Linking Up Here

3 thoughts on “Crockpot Beef Fajitas

  1. This looks so easy and good. I always make mine in a dutch oven but this would be a lot easier. Visiting you from Thriving on Thursdays. I would love it if you would join us on our Four Seasons Blog Hop and share your recipe.

  2. Looks good! =D I’ll absolutely have to try this some time, although we don’t have a crock pot… yet.

  3. Pingback: 10 Slow Cooker Meal Ideas » Saving 4 Six

Leave a Reply

