Our Wolf Den

Honey, I Have an Idea!

Mood Board – Grey, Teal and Yellow Bedroom

11 Comments

This room isn’t a figment of my imagination.  It is a gathering of thoughts for my guest bedroom.  You will notice that I did not mention a headboard or dresser.  I have both of these pieces already that will be repurposed.  While we are still a ways away from getting our room ready for finishing touches (we still need to drywall) it has been fun to imagine what direction it can take.  Stay tuned to see how close the finished design matches the inspiration.

So without further ado, here is my slightly beach inspired guest bedroom mood board:

grey teal yellow bedroom mood board

Item 1:

I chose Sherwin-Williams 6246 North Star for the paint color.  I love the grey neutral that makes color pop.  This color is also light enough that it will really brighten up the room.

Item 2:

Another Sherwin-Williams color Walnut Wainscoting (Wood Classic oil base stain, you can view the details here) is what we picked for the floor when we moved in.  I am not redoing the floors in this room, so we are going to work with what we have.

Item 3:

A nice gray rug grounds the room, love the pattern.

Item 4:

Breezy white curtains, with a touch of yellow to tie it in as an accent color, and the grey connects it to the other pieces.  There will need to be some sort of shade behind this, either a bamboo or blackout.

Item 5:

The bedspread was the first thing I picked out after the paint color.  The teal chevron design makes a statement and also leans towards the beachy vibe I was going for.

Item 6:

A cute little storage ottoman with a sweet yellow design will be a great place to hide an extra blanket and also act as a place to stack items next to the bed.

Item 7:

I have a thing for this pendant light.  The vision I have requires rewiring a plug and switch to it so it can hang over the bed.  Sort of an upscale table lamp, it will bring your eye up and also provide a reading light.

Item 8:

Decorative touch to add art to the room, the metal and wood ties in well with the beach theme.  I see black and white pictures of shells or waves in this.

Item 9 / 10 / 11 / 12 :

I really like the idea of these pieces.  They are a great inspiration.

I hope you enjoyed the mood board. I really enjoy creating these. However, a real room is much more fun. Having to deal with existing features (rug has to stay, weird lay out, can’t get a new sofa, etc.) or a person’s personal preference (hate the color green, really like fish, etc.) makes the design more challenging.  So, if you have a room you are stuck on, or would just like a fresh set of eyes, contact Our Wolf Den.  I would love to help. I need at least a few pictures of the room, the rough dimensions of the room, any furniture that has to stay, what you don’t like, and what style you are looking for, and I will do my best.

I have linked this post up here.

11 thoughts on “Mood Board – Grey, Teal and Yellow Bedroom

  1. Oooh, I am looking forward to seeing this guest bedroom. I’m getting some photos of a tiny room ready to send to your e-mail, although the room is cluttered with storage, and is plumbed to be a half bath, so I am not sure how hard it would be to collaborate on some mood board awesomeness.

    • I am excited about this room as well. It will be nice to let guest who stay the night have their own room instead of sleeping of the sofa and getting woken up by the dogs.

      So it is a half bath? This sounds fun, I can’t wait to see it!

      • It’s currently a mess. Haha. 🙂 I am not given permission to remove the existing sink, or toilet, or desk at this time, so it has to remain a half-bath, technically, but I’d like to cover the toilet (with a wood box) and make it into a craft room for when I get to the decorating stage in our apartment.

        If you don’t mind doing this, it would be amazing to collaborate with you!

  2. fun fun chevron quilt! and i love all things rustic like that frame.

  3. Love the rug! This will be such a nice & welcoming guest room.

  4. I love the ideas you have in mind. The colors are so soothing. Your guests will never want to leave! LOL! Thanks so much for stopping by my blog. I really appreciate your visit.

    • Thank you so much for your kind words. We would love to have a bedroom our friends and family felt comfortable in. Right now we have people crashing on the sofa in the living room and I never know in the morning it is okay to go downstairs or not.

  5. Great inspiration board! I LOVE that quilt too!

  6. I love what you have put together! Great choices!

Leave a comment